Bypoll results: Counting of votes underway; regional parties hope to trump BJP

Assembly Bypoll Results 2022 Live Updates: Among the seven seats where bypolls were held, the BJP held three seats and the Congress two, while the Shiv Sena and the RJD had one each.

Assembly Bypoll Election Results 2022 Live Updates, November 06, 2022: Counting of votes is underway in the byelection to seven assembly constituencies in six states. As per initial trends, BJP’s Aman Giri is leading in Gola Gokrannath seat, Uddhav Thackeray-led Sena’s Rutuja Latke in Andheri (East), RJD’s Mohan Prasad Gupta in Gopalganj, BJP’s Bhavya Bishnoi Adampur, RJD’s Neelam Devi in Mokama, BJP’s Suryabanshi Suraj in Dhamnagar and TRS’ Kusukuntla Prabhakar Reddy is leading in Munugode. These constituencies had gone to polls on November 3.

Most seats witnessed a fierce contest between the BJP and regional parties such as the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), the Samajwadi Party (SP), and the Biju Janata Dal (BJD). Among the seven seats where bypolls were held, the BJP held three seats and the Congress two, while the Shiv Sena and the RJD had one each.

The bypoll in Adampur was necessitated after former sitting MLA Kuldeep Bishnoi resigned from the Vidhan Sabha in August to switch from the Congress to the BJP. Andheri East contest was held due to the untimely death of Sena MLA Ramesh Latke. The Mokama seat, in Bihar, fell vacant after Anant Singh, the sitting MLA, was dismissed due to a conviction in a criminal case. The contest in Gopalganj, also in Bihar, was necessitated due to the death of sitting BJP MLA Subhash Singh. Munugode witnessed a bypoll after sitting MLA Komatireddy Raj Gopal Reddy resigned on August 2. The bypoll was necessitated in Gola Gokarannath Assembly seat of Lakhimpur Kheri district following the death of sitting MLA Arvind Giri, while Dhamnagar seat fell vacant due to the untimely demise of sitting BJP MLA Bishnu Charan Das.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.